New from WA!

MissKitty

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

This is my first time on a martial arts forum, I hope to learn a lot and meet some great people.

I am getting ready to jump back into martial arts. I have dabbled in Tae-Kwon-Do (which is where I got my black belt), Hapkido, Jeet Kune Do, a style of Kung Fu (which I forgot the name of) and American Style Nunchucks.
I am hesitant in starting back up for fear of getting sucked into a poorly taught style, I hope that some of the people here may be able to dissuade my fears and get me up and running.

In other parts of my life I love and train dogs-

DSCN7129 by FoundinShadow2, on Flickr

DSCN6429 by FoundinShadow2, on Flickr

I also have, ride and work with horses

DSCN9297 by FoundinShadow, on Flickr

And I dance.....a lot.

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
Welcome. Where in washington are you? What style of martial art are you training in or interested in?

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Welcome to you, your dogs and your horses, Kitty :bows:

It seems you have considerable experience in the martial arts from your intro, so I would have little fear that you wouldn't recognise poor teaching when you saw it. After all, every art has better and less good instructors in it's mix; it's usually a good guide that the more they charge and the more frequent the necessity of extra payments for belts, gradings, kit etc then the worse they are.

Of course, I speak from an English perspective and I know that our approach to the arts is more vocational than business-lead ... or at least it used to be.

OP
M

MissKitty

White Belt
Reaction score
Welcome. Where in washington are you? What style of martial art are you training in or interested in?

I am in Olympia.