Need help with striking!

Aretow

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been doing MMA for about 5 years now and I've come to realize that I am a much better grappler than I am a striker. Which is really odd because I have a body type of a striker and the speed. I really want to get better at striking but don't know how, its not like I train striking any less than I do grappling. Also when I spar I tend to over-think and over analyze everything, when it is stand up sparing, but then when I or my opponent gets taken down to the ground, I feel much more free, and I can't think a lot clearly. Is this normal? I am don't understand why striking is so hard for me? Can someone help?

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score
Hi!

I've been doing MMA for about 5 years now and I've come to realize that I am a much better grappler than I am a striker.

Ok.

Which is really odd because I have a body type of a striker

Mate. There is no such thing as a 'body type' that defines your preferences. Thats rubbish.

and the speed.

Speed is overrated.

I really want to get better at striking but don't know how, its not like I train striking any less than I do grappling.

Then train more striking than you do grappling.

Also when I spar I tend to over-think and over analyze everything, when it is stand up sparing, but then when I or my opponent gets taken down to the ground, I feel much more free, and I can't think a lot clearly. Is this normal? I am don't understand why striking is so hard for me? Can someone help?
Yeah, its normal because you obviously prefer ground fighting. Accept it, or fight against it.

Blaze Dragon

Blue Belt
Reaction score