Need help - trying to expand my martial arts

A

Aleem

Hey everyone,

I'd be grateful if I could get some help regarding cross-training into some other martial arts. Currently I'm studying WingChun but the contact level, sparring etc. are of a lower level than I'd like. This isn't yet the problem for me because I'm willing to spend a lot more time in the art.

However, there is very little - to nothing - as far as I've noticed, taught on clinchwork, takedowns, or groundfighting. I've found a few clubs and places in the area that deal with this, but I was wondering if anyone could advise me with some of the other arts on offer.

1) There's a place where they teach "sombo wrestling." Could anyone help me out with what this art/sport encompasses? Is it a comprehensive art? Would it hamper my wingchun training if I undertook it, or vice versa?

2) There is a free-fight club in my area ( www.cambridgefreefight.co.uk ). It competes in Vale Tudo tournaments and seems to have had great success. Can I ask, if I joined this place, how likely is it that I'll advance in a fairly comprehensive way in all ranges of fighting? I don't want a collection of isolated techniques taught - I personally need some basic guiding principles which won't confuse me too much. Does your MMA training give you this?

3) There is also a university Judo club and Jiu-jitsu club. How effectively could they help me with throws, locks, submission and groundwork?

Sorry about all the confusing questions - I've been thinking about all this for close to a month and its a real dilemma for me.

If I do join the MMA club, would I have to abandom my WingChun or could there be some complementary element in doing both?

If anyone could answer any questions, I'd be SO grateful - thanks very much,

Aleem.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score