Mormonism in Kenpo

H

Hefeweizen

Ok, what other alleged/actual elements of Mormonism can be found in Kenpo?

Some have suggested the belt knots on left vs. right.

I've also noticed the little formal introduction to the form has a triangle, then the covered fist, then the little PRAYING HANDS. The praying hands symbolizes "I pray for forgiveness for what I"m about to do to you". (at least this is what is taught at my school).

What other Mormon influences are there?

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm no expert in Mr. Parker's intentions, but Ive always been lead to believe that he painstakingly attempted to purge the art from any Eastern religious teachings so it would stand to reason that filling the "void" with other religius teachings would sort of defeat the purpose of demystification in the first place: so unless a technique name has some hidden significance I'm sure you can count on one hand any other hidden mormon influances. My instructor is a catholic so the buck would have stopped right there as with many other people who don't happen to be Mormon. This is just my off the top of my head opinion so feel free to correct me if you want

OP
S

Scott Bonner

Be careful with this thread to not find Mormon connections that aren't really Mormon connections, especially if they reflect some of the ludicrous stereotypes about Mormons.

My understanding of the praying hands part is that it is from another source entirely, specifically that that sequence of hand positions were used by Mitose (and are featured in his book; I saw a reproduction of those pictures). They are supposed to represent specific things in Mitose's system, and that either Chow or Parker took it from there (even though it's debatable whether or not they took much else from Mitose).