Moral Culture, and a few other things

R

RCastillo

One of the things the General(ITF) points out in his encyclopedia is Moral Culture, specifically on Community Service. Is that something that should be pushed, and required of it's members?

Another thing is sacrificing for ones art. I think we've all done that somewhere, and I've worked a few tourneys myself. What I don't like is that it's a required thing in order to work for promotion, while the Promoters make the money.

While there are important values that we all need, I wonder if that should be an intregal part of the arts, considering where Americans are concerned. Being that I'm a school teacher, I find myself having to correct these students, but where are their parents, and what did they teach them?

If I'm wrong, please give me your opinion.

Thanks, and Respects to you!

OP
T

Ty K. Doe

I too, am a school teacher and have noticed that many of these kids are not taught moral values at all. For those students who begin to take an interest in the martial arts they seem to have no interest in being corrected or disciplined and quickly lose interest in the martial arts (at least where I'm from). There are a few exceptions.

Many people tend to believe that when Americans began to insist that religion be removed from schools in any form that the moral fiber of our youth began to shred. I feel this way to an extent, but if you look at the Asian culture, which is full of disciplined individuals, without some form of christian religion, they seem to have done a pretty good job. Perhaps there is some way to integrate what they teach as far as discipline and respect without pushing some component of religion. Granted it is difficult to teach moral values without some religious content, because after all, without some deeper meaning why should kids have morals. What are the real consequences.