A few questions.

Suntail

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
'Lo

So I'm new at formal TKD training, I just started a class at my college a few weeks ago. I do have years of experiance in a few different arts and a few of my first training partners took TKD for years. I have a few questions for some people on this board if that's all right, particularly any instructors.

First off, I do some techniques just a little differently then my instructor. My instructor always seems to be exceedingly annoyed when I do things differently. Is it really offensive if I do a few things my way, or should I do things his way exactly, all the time?

Second, if I can take a few things a little further then he's teaching should I hold back? If so, should I ask permision first?

Third, if I wanted to get more advanced, should I try to test for a belt? If I was going to test for a belt, what should I need to study before I tested?

Fourth, how formal are ITF classes normally? I've generally been in fairly casual classes so it feels weird having to stand in specific stances when I'm not doing anything in particular, and it seems like I'm bowing an awful lot.

I'd really appreciate any help I could get. Thank you in advance.

Kacey

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
'Lo

So I'm new at formal TKD training, I just started a class at my college a few weeks ago. I do have years of experiance in a few different arts and a few of my first training partners took TKD for years. I have a few questions for some people on this board if that's all right, particularly any instructors.

First of all, welcome!!!!

First off, I do some techniques just a little differently then my instructor. My instructor always seems to be exceedingly annoyed when I do things differently. Is it really offensive if I do a few things my way, or should I do things his way exactly, all the time?