Martial Arts Useless In Street Fights

A

Andy_46

Hi

Ok, so there are other reasons for studying martial arts (keep fit, sociable, fun etc), but surely we all hope we'll be able to defend ourselves if ever we had to.

Now obviously if someone smacked you from behind, or had a weapon your chances would be reduced, but if someone of a similar size to you started a fight with you who would win ?? ...... IMHO i'd say both could end up in a bad way.

Anyone ever been in a real street fight. I've been studying a couple of martial arts for 2 years now and am pretty good in terms of the class i'm in. However recently a new guy came into the class, got his sparring gear on and went for me big time, i'm not proud to say i responded and hit him equally as hard. We were both padded up so it didn't really hurt, the fight only lasted 60 seconds if that as the instructor stopped it, but at the end of the day i'd have called the fight a draw at best in a situation where i would previously have said i'd have knocked him senseless.

It made me realise that i'm never going to be able to take on 3 guys at once and walk away. We were both up close to each other so kicks were useless, as were blocks, basically we just punched each other as hard as possible, which also made me realise that my punch aint gonna knock a person of similar size to the floor like what happens on the TV !!!

Ok, so maybe it wasn't a real fight, but it was the closest i've ever had and completely different to when i'm jumping about tapping my mates, punching, kicking, stepping away from them and then back in to repeat the process.

Brother John

Senior Master
Reaction score
#1: TSD is a fine martial art, but in my opinion.... it's more suited to sparring situations than real combat. No offense please, but that's the way I see it.

#2: Sparring is NOT like street-fighting at all. Not even close.

#3: Train hard, Train often, Train logically, Train realistically....Make NO excuses.....
Ability should follow.