Martial Arts: A way of life that changes lives.

Shaolinwind

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
As many of you know, I started studying martial arts as a very heavy person. My first uniform was custom tailored for a 60" waist. My first belt was size 9. Yeah, they come that big.

As I have progressed in martial arts and developed the self discipline to throw out my Pizza hut membership card, I've seen some progress. I now fit in a size 7, the largest size that you can usually get. Original weight, 320. Current, 298.

I think that Martial Arts have not just provided excersize, but also instilled a sense of personal dignity and self discipline that I wouldn't be able to start meeting my goals without. The martial arts would not be there if it wasn't for people like my Master, who choose to share their ancient disciplines with the public.

So, in the company of people whom I respect I would like to sing praises of those who teach martial arts, those who encourage others to study, and those who show through example by using martial arts to benefit many facets of their lives. You guys and gals vicariously and literally help change lives for the better.

J

jkdhit

good to hear that you progressed and lost over 20lbs in that time. i know it's prety hard to lose weight but easy to gain it. i used to weight 210lbs but forced myself to diet and excercise more frequently and dropped down to 157. however, after only 2 weeks time, i managed to bring my weight back up to 185 which is a lot of weight in only 2 weeks. i'm currently trying to bring it back down to 155-160 but it's really hard especially with all those tempting foods out there.

by the way, i didnt know pizza hut had a membership card lol

S

Shaolinmack