Looking for Foot Work Help

RobEastwood

White Belt
Reaction score
I studied Nakord Kenpo several years ago. I have recently started my studies in a new school and passed my Yellow belt test (Kenpo - Ed Parker).

With that said, I am struggling with my foot work as it relates to my forms or Katas. In my previous training, my instructor gave us exercises to do that showed how to move your feet from one position to the next (i.e placement, heel toe pivots, etc...) That training really helped me to glue the forms together and transition properly. Unfortunatly I dont remember those techniques.

Now that I am re-learning my forms I could really use that information.

Has anyone had similar struggles or does anyone know of any sites that show such techniques?

jdinca

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Don't know what drill he's doing but here's a couple of tips. Step through the middle, meaning that the foot comes into the other foot as it transitions to its new position. This helps keep a more compact center of gravity and makes for a smoother transition. If you're stepping forward, land on your heel first, just like you're walking. Stepping back, ball of the foot, etc. Whether you're stepping forward, or back, pivot into your stance once your heel hits the ground. Make sure you kick your heels out, so you don't end up "duck footed". Do this slowly at first, and then speed it up. Keeping your back up and your head straight will also help maintain better position.

Don't know if this is what you're looking for but these are some of the things we teach.

OP
R

RobEastwood

White Belt
Reaction score
Great explanation!
Thank you and yes that is what I was looking for.
This helped me to remember the exercises I learned before...I will give it a try!

One last question... once I have planted my feet, how does the pivoting work? Lets say I step forward and plant my heel...should the front foot pivot on the heel while the back pivots on the ball of the foot?

Thanks again!!!