Looking for advise on solo training

Revenant777

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing Taekwondo for about three years now (I've also taken classes in other things but have not studied any thing else long term). I want to get more serious about training and getting better and feel that in order to do that I need to do more training on my own in between taking classes. However, I am not really sure where to start. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks,
David

jonbey

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Rather than do martial arts training, why not compliment your martial arts with weight training (compound training) and circuit training / plyometrics? It will make a you a fitter and stronger fighter.

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have been doing Taekwondo for about three years now (I've also taken classes in other things but have not studied any thing else long term). I want to get more serious about training and getting better and feel that in order to do that I need to do more training on my own in between taking classes. However, I am not really sure where to start. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks,
David

Classes are structured, with an agenda. I always felt that on my off days, I would work on my weaknesses, and things not covered during class.

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score

Classes are structured, with an agenda. I always felt that on my off days, I would work on my weaknesses, and things not covered during class.

This strikes me as a very sensible strategy... maybe because it's the one that I've always followed, lol.