life/training journal

DangerMouse

White Belt
Reaction score
I started training MMA and kickboxing around 4 months ago to help with my anxiety depression and to get myself into fit shape. normal gyms just bored me since picking up martial arts my mood has increased dramatically. I'm hooked!! love the sport and reading about different cultures etc.

My question is, do people keep a training and or life journal to keep track of their progress be it in training and or day to day life. I've been toying with the idea and I've bought myself 3 notepads one for training one for logging my food and finally the third being for my spiritual side for my meditation logging. I meditate daily on a morning (when i can) before training i get a quick 10 mins in the back room at the gym and bed on a night time. struggling with a way to get it down on paper in the sense of a structure.

anyone do this and can help with a structure?

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
A lot of folks (in all areas) find value in journaling. It's a common practice among CEO's, and most executive coaches I know encourage it. I find value in it, but don't maintain it on a consistent basis (a personality trait). Some of the benefits of journaling:
  • Writing things down helps you process them, so you get more out of experiences.
  • Writing often helps commit to memory (the physical act of writing - there is less evidence of this with typed journaling).
  • The practice, itself, is building a disciplined approach.
  • If you want to find out why you got the results you did, you can read back over what you were doing at the time.
  • If you include your thoughts and emotions in the entries, you'll be able to analyze your own reactions to things (this can be useful in your food journal, for instance, to see if you vary your diet discipline by mood).