Language Discussion, Proper Use of Honorifics

Kreth

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Captain Harlock said:
For the individual who decided to hit my reputation for my comments earlier in this thread, with the comment "Hatsumi SAMA???? You make the Bujinkan look like a cult", I can assure you that such was not my intent. My understanding is that the addition of "-sama" was a formal show of respect usually used for a respected senior. If I am wrong, please correct me, preferably in a respectful manner. The fact that the one who commented did so anonymous indicated that ones own cowardice, I think.
Cap,
I'm far from a Japanese expert, but I don't see -sama used very often. IIRC, it's kind of an archaic and extremely formal usage. But if someone knows better, feel free to correct me. Oh, and I wasn't the one who dinged you. I typically sign mine, good or bad...

Jeff

Captain Harlock

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Ah, Thank you. As you can tell, I am an anime fan, so have picked up my limited understanding of the language by that media. As Dr. Hatsumi is not my instructor, but is someone I do respect for his contributions, I thought the form of address appropriate.

I have been "dinged" again, by yet another, or the same coward. Please, if you are do so, at least have the honor to identify yourself.

Peace.

Don Roley

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Captain Harlock said:
As you can tell, I am an anime fan, so have picked up my limited understanding of the language by that media.

Don't try to learn Japanese from anime unless it is a modern day story about normal people. "-Sama" is never used in modern day Japanese outside of some extreme cases with the exception of some pretty weird folks. "Sensei" is appropriate, but not needed in an English language forum. "San" and such is usually not used with people you have never met.

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score