kenpo techniques, shotokan kata

lonecoyote

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I studied a system for a while that taught both kenpo techniques and shotokan kata and to be honest, it was problematic. I like shotokan okay, used to do it exclusively, but there were a few things that made it incompatible with kenpo. The two arts flow differently, have different blocks, or at least use them differently and and my instructor would have to tell me while doing some techniques that I needed not to block through so much as parry and use economy of motion to get to the strike quickly.

Sorry, just wondering if anyone else has done this and had a problem with it. I just felt they were at cross purposes. Thanks

I came to kenpo from a differant style and it did take me a while to loosen up and flow with kenpo blocks and techniques. Give it some time and let the kenpo principles sink in.

lonecoyote said:
I studied a system for a while that taught both kenpo techniques and shotokan kata and to be honest, it was problematic. I like shotokan okay, used to do it exclusively, but there were a few things that made it incompatible with kenpo. The two arts flow differently, have different blocks, or at least use them differently and and my instructor would have to tell me while doing some techniques that I needed not to block through so much as parry and use economy of motion to get to the strike quickly.
Lonecoyote,
I would spend some time with parries. They have a lot to do with you physicaly getting off the line of attack. Parrying can be, simply, a bad idea in some cases. Especialy if you're dealing with great force. Play with sticky hands ideas to explore proper angles for heigth, width, and depth zone cancelation.
Sean

lonecoyote said:
I studied a system that taught both kenpo techniques and shotokan kata, to be honest, it was problematic. I was just wondering if anyone else has had a problem with it. I just felt they were at cross purposes.
Yep........ like mixing Coke and 7-Up.