Kata Unsu

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I just started learning kata Unsu Thursday, and am about halfway through it.

I've previewed the second half, and see that there's a 360 degree jump. I know that the right crescent kick starts you off with your spinning momentum, but I've also noticed that some systems have you back kicking with the left leg, while others simply keep the leg extended.

Is there a particular advantage to either method?

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I believe it is simply which way you are tought, I was tought to just let the leg be extended. It is the way I have always doneen it.

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score

I've previewed the second half, and see that there's a 360 degree jump. I know that the right crescent kick starts you off with your spinning momentum, but I've also noticed that some systems have you back kicking with the left leg, while others simply keep the leg extended.

Are you learning the bunkai for that move too? That one is going to be awesome...

Shotochem

Purple Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score

Good luck. It's a very cool looking kata, which I freely admit is not even close to my best.

That jumping 360 just kills me and IMO, the only reason it could possibly be in the katas is for excercise and entertainment purposes. I can't possibly see myself applying any sort of effective bunkai to that movement. (and I'm quite jealous of all of you who can :waah:)

My interpretation is grabbing the head and crescent kick to the face knocking attacker to the ground. I'll have to owe you the extra 270 degrees.:)

Maybe 20yrs ago.........

-Marc-

OP
Grenadier

Grenadier

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hmm, as it turns out, we do the crescent kick (some systems don't even do that anymore), and the back kick is held off until the very last second.