Kata & Kumite

P

Patrick Skerry

I'm basically a karate fan and not a practitioner. I was wondering how does one distinguish the differences in Karate between Kata, Kumite, Free-Sparring, and Tournament? Thanks!

Drac

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It's been awhile since I studied traditional Karate and I'm sure someone will give you some better information..As I remember Kata was performed without contact..Kumite was an actual put on the protective gear and have your butt kicked by the hottie assistant female Sensei..

OP
P

Patrick Skerry

Drac said:
It's been awhile since I studied traditional Karate and I'm sure someone will give you some better information..As I remember Kata was performed without contact..Kumite was an actual put on the protective gear and have your butt kicked by the hottie assistant female Sensei..
How does Kumite differ from Bunkei?

OP
W

Wikket

Kata is a series of movements/combinations/techniques etc designed to practice self defence/sparring applications. It is performed solo, but the idea is that the applications can be extracted and practiced with a partner.
Kumite actually means an exercise involving at least two practitioners, but much more often than not is used to refer to sparring.

RRouuselot

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Wikket said:
Kata is a series of movements/combinations/techniques etc designed to practice self defence/sparring applications. It is performed solo, but the idea is that the applications can be extracted and practiced with a partner.
Kumite actually means an exercise involving at least two practitioners, but much more often than not is used to refer to sparring.

Good answer.