Just a couple of questions :)

trent1988

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys/girls.

I've never done Muay Thai, nor any other martial art before, but i'm really keen in getting into Muay Thai. I understand it's a rather brutal sport and requires a lot of fitness as well as technique, etc etc.

If anyones got the time to just help me along maybe, it would be much appreciated :) ?

1. I know that if i take it slow even just beginning Muay Thai nothing should happen, but i understand theres a "higher" chance of death in this form of fighting? Should this be a deterent for me wanting to participate?

2. I've been playing soccer for 10 years and athletics for 3, so yes i do have some power in my legs as well as a LOT of speed in regards to running - though how long would it take to gain the fitness levels to participate in the ring in just a spar/fight?

3. If I am going to do this art, i'm going to need a LOT more flexibility - mines shocking :p - Can anybody recommend some stretches of movements that are going to give me some long-term flexibility gains as well as help with kicks, both high and low.

And last but not least,

4. Anybody know any Muay Thai gyms or places that they do this art on the GOLD COAST in AUSTRALIA?

Thanks for your help already :)

Regards,
trent

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hey guys/girls.

I've never done Muay Thai, nor any other martial art before, but i'm really keen in getting into Muay Thai. I understand it's a rather brutal sport and requires a lot of fitness as well as technique, etc etc.

Taking any sport to a high level requires a lof ot fitness and technique, Muay Thai is no different.

1. I know that if i take it slow even just beginning Muay Thai nothing should happen, but i understand theres a "higher" chance of death in this form of fighting? Should this be a deterent for me wanting to participate?