Japanese language

N

newbie72

Hello all. I have had the greatest interest in Japanese culture, history, and anime for the longest time and am looking into learning the language sometime in my life. I am currently a third year college student and have already taken two semesters of Italian of which I barely passed with a C. I'm not the strongest in foreign language but I do have a passion to learn. Only things are my university doesn't offer Japanese courses nor do I wish to risk my GPA for it so I'm thinking about doing it in my own time after I graduate. I just wanted to ask you guys (especially native English speakers who have or are learning the language) what it's like, how hard it was/is for you, and if there are any good methods for learning the language, ex. Pimsleur. I'd appreciate any suggestions.

OP
T

tmonis

newbie72 said:
Hello all. I have had the greatest interest in Japanese culture, history, and anime for the longest time and am looking into learning the language sometime in my life. I am currently a third year college student and have already taken two semesters of Italian of which I barely passed with a C. I'm not the strongest in foreign language but I do have a passion to learn. Only things are my university doesn't offer Japanese courses nor do I wish to risk my GPA for it so I'm thinking about doing it in my own time after I graduate. I just wanted to ask you guys (especially native English speakers who have or are learning the language) what it's like, how hard it was/is for you, and if there are any good methods for learning the language, ex. Pimsleur. I'd appreciate any suggestions.
Newby: There are some great resources you can draw from in learning to speak Japanese. I have two really good ones in mind. I used these in my effort to learn.
1. Go to your local Barnes and Nobles. They have a book called " Speak Japanese in 10 minutes aday." Great Book.