It is a wonderful feeling when your Taijiquan works!

zzj

Blue Belt
Reaction score
As some of you might know, I am a relative newbie to Taijiquan, having been involved with Mainstream Chen for just over 2 years. Although my teacher emphasizes that Taijiquan is first and foremost a martial art, but he does not teach 'sanshou' or free sparring as among the students there is no demand for it (at almost 40 I am one of his youngest students, so the more senior students aren't really into the sparring thing).

I have also recently started taking self defense classes that combine different effective techniques from TKD, hapkido, aikido, muay thai and BJJ in order to learn some useful skills and do some sparring. It is in one of these classes that we were asked to do some grappling and submission sparring, and I was paired with this senior student who was in his 20's, obviously way fitter than I was and taller by a head, although I did outweigh him by several kilograms.

What surprised me was my reaction from the word go, and how instinctively my taijiquan grounding kicked in, where as I would struggle with my fellow students during push hands training, against a non-taijiquan person his incoming force and balance was suddenly so apparent and easily counteracted. I'm not sure what I actually did, it I brought my opponent down almost too easily. On the ground I was much less familiar with my options as I was not allowed to just finish a person off with a stomp (which I was in a position to execute), I found myself being choked but was able to slip in my hand in between and completely 'sung' such that the choke could not work, I subsequently broke free by following the direction of force and twisting along it, and pinned my opponent down.