Info on Sytems/Styles

C

crbnwdn

Hello all,

I am new to these boards. Can't ya tell. I joined this forum in hopes to be able to pick the minds of many who are involved in the martial arts. I was a student of TKD for a couple of years untill realizing that my instructor was only focused on teaching the bare essentials for competition sparring. I am fine with the idea of competition, but I was in it to gain all there was to the art and felt as though I was being cheated. Then I moved away from the area and got married. over the last couple years I have wanted to become active in martial arts again, and I am now ready to do something about it. The issue is which style or system to begin learning. I have been trying to do as much research as I can from available books and sources online to try and identify the style or system that would best suit my interest. I am presently reading two books that I really find interesting. One is "Aikido and the Harmony of Nature by Mitsugi Saotome" the other is "Bruce Lee Artist of Life edited by John Little". Both of these books speak of the martial arts in terms of both the physical and philisophical. I have found them very interesting to say the least. I am also finding many resources that state the martial arts originate from that of an art taught to the chnese (Chuan Fa) and then later developed into branches and then later adopted by the Japanese and manipulated into thier own interpretations of these arts to suit thier particular needs and the enviroment of which they lived. So, I am looking for some guidance as to which is the best art if there is one, or at least a best system to start in. Now I know this question is broad and also dependant on many factors, as well as have the potential for argument. I am just looking for opinions. I am very interested in the idea of a hard and soft style as opposed to a style that utilizes only one aspect, either hard or soft. Linear and circular as opposed to a singular angle or approach