I'm having a computer issue and I am going to throw my computer out the window and...

Hand Sword

Grandmaster
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Joined
Sep 22, 2004
Messages
6,545
Reaction score
61
Location
In the Void (Where still, this merciless GOD torme
Personally, I gone through a lot of Atari's, Nintendo's, and a couple of Play Station's through the years. Oh, yeah, 1 IMac too!


I say : DO IT!

What a good, all be it, brief, feeling you'll have!

As fast as our computers become obsolete, and outdated, you'll need a new one soon anyway---LOL!
icon12.gif
 

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
20,311
Reaction score
541
Location
NH
Tulisan said:
That's what I would like to do, but I need to get in there to do it.

Well, thanks for everyones help.

My computer is updated, defraged, scanned, Java updated and re-Javaupdated, and firefoxed. I still can't get into pagebuilder, so I have no idea WTF. This pisses me off because that has been an all day project, in between other things.

Oh well. If anyone has any suggestions, cool. But, it looks like I am going to have to try another avenue. Grrr...

Paul

Call your ISP.
 

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Joined
Jan 16, 2006
Messages
20,311
Reaction score
541
Location
NH
Carol Kaur said:
That is one HUGE java app you are trying to load, Paul.

Your IE files are overloaded with remnants of past web pages. Somewhere I wrote down a few tricks that clean out more than just the button on the internet options page. I've seen a few browsers that get snarled running ferociously large java apps because of this. Installing FireFox may help because with a new browser, you won't have had the chance to fill up it's cache files yet ;)

Do a complete spyware scan with Ad-Aware or equivalent (Ad-Aware is the one I swear by) and make sure you have an absolutely up to date definitions file...and be sure to do a full stop/start of the computer. Shut the machine dead off, wait 30 secondes, then start again. Just hitting restart does NOT do the same thing, it does not allow the internal chipsets to drain.

In the mean time, I'll try to dig up my magic tricks. :D

Doh. What I have are some things that may help a Windows 2000 machine, and not effective against Windows XP.

Unless of course....you are running Windows 2000....
 
OP
Cruentus

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Joined
Apr 17, 2002
Messages
7,161
Reaction score
129
Location
At an OP in view of your house...
I have Windows XP, with plenty of diskspace left. I don't think that size matters.......of the Java program! The JAVA Program I mean...Doh! :erg:

I'll try to fully turn it off and turn it back on again just for fun, but I am pretty sure that won't do anything at this point. I have defraged and scanned for viruses (spyware, adware). And I am pretty sure I cleaned my caches.

I'll have to accept that it's not me, it's her, collect my things, and move out of Geocities for good. ;)

Paul
 

Kreth

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Joined
Aug 26, 2003
Messages
6,980
Reaction score
86
Location
Oneonta, NY
Tulisan said:
I'll try to fully turn it off and turn it back on again just for fun, but I am pretty sure that won't do anything at this point. I have defraged and scanned for viruses (spyware, adware). And I am pretty sure I cleaned my caches.
Make sure you run your scans in Safe Mode. A lot of malware installs a process that runs in the background and will re-install everything as fast as you remove it.
I'll have to accept that it's not me, it's her, collect my things, and move out of Geocities for good. ;)
That's probably a good decision. Geocities is widely regarded as "the projects" of the Internet. :uhyeah:
 

fireman00

Brown Belt
Joined
Jan 11, 2006
Messages
478
Reaction score
11
Location
New Jersey
I was having problems with pagebuilder on Verizon's site when I was trying to build my personal page.... seems that I had pop-ups blocked and that prevented P/B from loading. Have you checked that pop-ups are enabled?
 
OP
Cruentus

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Joined
Apr 17, 2002
Messages
7,161
Reaction score
129
Location
At an OP in view of your house...
fireman00 said:
I was having problems with pagebuilder on Verizon's site when I was trying to build my personal page.... seems that I had pop-ups blocked and that prevented P/B from loading. Have you checked that pop-ups are enabled?

yup.
 
Top