Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
From the rec.martialarts FAQ

(Contributor: Al Bowers - [email protected])

Intro: The Art of drawing the sword for combat.

Origin: Japan

History:

This art is very old, and has strong philosophical and historical ties
to Kenjutsu. It was practiced by Japanese warriors for centuries.

Description:

The object is to draw the sword perfectly, striking as it is drawn,
so that the opponent has no chance to defend against the strike.

Training:

Usually practiced in solo form (kata), but also has partner forms
(kumetachi).

Sub-Styles: Muso Shinden Ryu, Muso Jikishin Ryu, and others.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Most modern styles include the practice of the standardized seitai iaido, 12 techniques drawn from and representative of various styles. It was only 10 when I studied iaido! They added two.

OP
Bob Hubbard

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Wow. Still wish I could find a school local to me that does it. Closest is in Canada, and Syracuse. Too far on my schedule. :(

Have heard its great for medatative work.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Originally posted by Kaith Rustaz
Still wish I could find a school local to me that does it. Closest is in Canada, and Syracuse. Too far on my schedule.

Syracuse is where I studied it, under a Goju-ryu instructor who competed in weapons forms using the katana. He taught me the 10 techniques of seitai iaido. Great instructor all around (Sensei V. Grace). Not to tease you but yes I really enjoyed it.

Mao

Black Belt
Reaction score
I studied Kogen Itto Ryu some years ago. We began offering Iaido at the school recently. Most of us are using Paul Chen swords. We also practice kumitachi in aikido. Fun stuff. Good for posture, timing, focus, speed and other attributes.

Yari

Master Black Belt
Reaction score