Iaido

Spinedoc

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,

In addition to the Aikikai Aikido I have been studying, I am starting the practice of Muso Shinden Ryu/Setei Iaido tomorrow (dojo teaches both). What should I expect? Is there anything I should ask or watch for?

Respectfully,

Mike

Ken Morgan

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Thank God, someone else practicing iai and Seitei too!!

1. Bring knee pads.
2, Everything you've seen in the movies about the Japanese Sword Arts, forget it all.
3. Listen to your Sensei.
4. Practice, practice, practice.
5. Listen to the Senior students.
6. It will take years/decades to get reasonably good at iai. I've been at it close to 16 years and i'm still a beginner.
7. It can be incredibly boring to watch, be prepared.
8. Everyone progresses at their own speed.
9. Practice, practice, practice.

pgsmith

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Hey Mike,
Welcome to the demented world of the Japanese sword arts!
Your experience in aikido will serve you well in iaido, in that the details are very important to doing things correctly. In many martial arts, technique depends on what feels more comfortable. However, both aikido and the Japanese sword arts do things aren't inherently natural, and so they don't feel comfortable in the beginning. There's a lot of overlap in movement between them also, in my experience.

Biggest word of advice is to go slowly. Too many people try to rush through the kata rather than going slowly enough to think of all the details. As I was told repeatedly ... "slow is smooth, and smooth is fast!" :)

And what Ken said! We were posting at the same time!

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hi all,

In addition to the Aikikai Aikido I have been studying, I am starting the practice of Muso Shinden Ryu/Setei Iaido tomorrow (dojo teaches both). What should I expect? Is there anything I should ask or watch for?

Respectfully,

Mike

Er, Seitei…? Okay… if you must… hmph… (that's just for Ken, you understand… ha!)