I am looking for a Modern Arnis instructor

• Thread starter Larry Kensletler
  • Start date
L

Larry Kensletler

Hello,

My name is Larry Kensletler, I have been training in Karate for about 30 years, but not regularly, my job of 30 years basically kept me on the road throughout the U.S and Europe, I would train for a month or two here and there, so I am far from being an expert! I have recently retired and will be relocating just South of Toledo Ohio. About 25 years ago I had the pleaseure of meeting and attending a seminar by Grand Master Remy Presas (sp) in Amsterdam, he was accompanied by a young man named Chris Paswick, he went by the name Rockie, I must say to watch these two in action was incredible. Over the years I have attend 5 or 6 seminars given by both of these gentleman I am always amazed at this young mans abilities I watched the two give a live blade demo with real swords in which the Master accidently slashed this student on the side almost to the rib and the young man never flinched. At any rate I was sorry to here that the Grand Master had passed away, I attended a seminar a few years back by a very nice man I guess he is the successor to Grand Master Presas, ( or from what I gather on this site one of many sucessors) Grand Master Jeff Daney, a very knowledgeble man , but I must say ( not to step on anyones toes ) while he was a wonderful teacher and gave a great seminar, he was far from the skill level of what Mr. Paswick was 15 years ago, so now that I am getting older, and have bad hips and a bad knee and settling down, I would like to train exclusively in Modern Arnis or FMA in general, I like the stick and see it as a real practical weapon unlike a 6ft long staf or a Samuri sword. I remember Rockie being from Michigan and would greatly appreciate a phone number or something I have looked on the web but can't find him. Thank you in advance, and once again I am sad to hear of the Grand Masters passing, but glad to see so many people carrying h