How to see the attacks coming?

EngIntoHW

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey.

I've been training Muay Thai for 8 months now, and am really enjoying it.

When I spare, I don't manage to see the opponent's kicks coming, and I always take them and don't manage to block them quickly enough.

Is it distance problem?
I'm trying to be looking at the opponent's chest so I can see his whole body, however I sometimes lose focus and am too much concentrated on how to attack him instead of being ready for his attacks.

Any tips would be appreciated.

girlbug2

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Tunnel vision, a problem I have as well. Hopefully somebody else will have an answer on this thread. I watch with interest!

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
The best way to see the attacks coming is to not look for them. This of course is easier said then done. It is kind of like seeing openings for your techniques and before you can react, they are gone. It is the thought process that slows us down. There was a book I read over and over many years ago ( The Way And The Power, Secrets of Japanese Strategy) by Fredrick J. Lovret, Paladin Press, Boulder, Colorado. You will see in my signature a saying that says " For, in combat, to think is to die". Obviously, while certain reactions are built in, others have to be developed. This is why physical training must always go along with mental exercises. As I said above, there are some reactions built in us to protect us from harm such as touching something hot. Our reaction with no thought, is to pull back. If we were to think about how hot the object was, we would sustain very bad burns. So with no thinking involved, we "pull back". I feel the above book is a must to better understand such things as "Mushin" and will go a long ways in helping you to achieve your Martial Arts goals. :asian:

OP
E

EngIntoHW

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Thanks Seasoned,
I appreciate your help.