How to Receive Traditional Martial Arts Training

OP
Bill Mattocks

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
OK so let me instead ask you a question, I am correct in thinking you are instructor yes?? If so, then what have you said to student who seem to you completely unwilling and devoid of legitimate excuse to pitch in and help take care of dojo etc? Or if not what *have* you said then what *would* you say? Say that person is me what you would say to me as instructor I am your student?? Thank you :)

I am only an assistant instructor; I am also an adult student. I help with the kids classes, I am not qualified to promote students yet.

I would not say anything in most circumstances. If I said anything, I would probably say it once, in person, privately.

I have all the empathy in the world for a person who tries, even if they can't do what is asked of them. I tend to lose interest in a student who clearly does not care to learn. It's not my place to solve the world's problems.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Sorry if this was already mentioned but if you belong to a fitness gym, regardless of how fancy or expensive you are expected to wipe down the equipment after you use it.
And throw your trash away, and rack your weights...

Going to Jenna's question about fairness...

Life isn't fair. Those who put out more will likely receive more. No problem with that, because everyone has the same opportunity. And, in a small club, as Bill said, you'll know the guy who can't stay late because he gets up super early the next morning, or has child care issues. There are other ways he can "pay into" getting more than hanging around and cleaning; he might welcome new students and show them around the club, or run the clubs website, etc. In a small club, rather than a fee for service structure, everyone contributes in some fashion to keeping the club running -- or the club goes down.

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator