How many students do you want in class as an instructor?? As a student??

OP
skribs

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I recognized a bit of myself in JR's description. I definitely tend to get more technical and cerebral with smaller classes, and push for more activity from larger classes.

I think my master does this. I push for more activity because I'm told to, but like when I can get more technical.

Orion Nebula

Green Belt
Reaction score
As a student, I enjoy a low student to teacher ratio as opposed to a certain number of students. At my old dojo, we had classes of probably 20 - 25 and the dojo had a lot of space. We normally had our 2 head instructors there, plus 4 - 5 senior students (mostly shodan but also a few 1st kyu) who acted as assistant instructors. I got a lot of one on one time as a beginner, less so as I advanced, but we were generally always in very small groups.

My current dojo is small. A full class is usually 4 students and there's one instructor. It's also not unusual for me to be the only student on a Monday. I personally love those one on one classes. I get nitpicked, but I also get really good feedback. It is nice to have other students to work with, though, and 4 is nice because we can swap and work with people of different heights and skill levels. Odd numbers are fun sometimes because you can do some things like 2 against 1, which really changes the dynamics of sparring.

Occasionally we get visitors from other dojos in our organization, particularly around exam time. Once we ended up with a class of close to 10 and it felt super crowded. I wasn't a fan of that ratio at all.

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I think my master does this. I push for more activity because I'm told to, but like when I can get more technical.