How many students do you want in class as an instructor?? As a student??

skribs

Grandmaster
Reaction score
If you have too few students in class, then people don't have as much opportunity to work with different partners and round out their skill sets. Also, one or two people not showing up can have a huge impact on the class.

On the other hand, if you have too many students, then classes can get cramped, and each student gets less attention from the Master or Instructors.

If I am working one-on-one with a student, they will get the most feedback on their technique, but also won't get much chance to try the technique on different people. And if I have a class of 50 students, then I can barely give a few seconds at a time to each student without holding up the other 49.

For me, both as a student and as a teacher, I like when there's 6-8 people in a class of similar levels, or 8-12 people in a class of mixed levels. 6-8 people is about the right number to run group drills and still get a lot of individual attention, and 8-12 means there's probably a couple in my belt range that we can work with, and then you can learn from those more advanced and help out those that are less advanced.

What about you guys? How many students do you find to be the sweet spot as an instructor? As a student? Or do you only prefer to work 1-on-1, or only prefer as large a class as possible?

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Taking space out of the equation (that matters a lot with sparring or grappling), if it's just me teaching, I prefer nothing smaller than 6 people (3 groups of 2) an up to maybe 14, or a bit higher (maybe as many as 20) if many of them are at the same level.