How do you find out if you're being stiffed.

Ronnin

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Okay I am new to the Chinese Arts, so I don't know all the teachers, or the small details that distinguish one style from the next, a real teacher or a fake. I am begining Chen Style and I want to make sure my time and effort are spent wisley. So how does one find out if their teacher is ligitimate? Obviously we can't ask them.......so how can I do some reserch ?
Thanks for you thoughts.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I had the same thought yesterday as I read about a physical therapist teaching Tai Chi for improved balance for seniors...he was certified to teach Tai Chi. I thought, does that mean he knows traditional Tai Chi, or just a therapeutic approach (which I don't have a problem with)?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Okay I am new to the Chinese Arts, so I don't know all the teachers, or the small details that distinguish one style from the next, a real teacher or a fake. I am begining Chen Style and I want to make sure my time and effort are spent wisley. So how does one find out if their teacher is ligitimate? Obviously we can't ask them.......so how can I do some reserch ?
Thanks for you thoughts.

Why can’t you ask him?

Ask him who his teacher is or was and how long he has trained.

For the most part when it comes to Chen style if your teacher is greater than 1 generation away I would be surprised. In other words either he learned form the Chen family of his teacher learned form the Chen family.

If your teacher says they leaned Chen form any of the Physical Education colleges in China then likely he know form and that is all.