Have you ever...?

Mei Hua

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Competed through injury?

*Mods, if you feel this belongs in another forum, pease move it :) *

**I'm also ex-USMC, did 4 combat tours where I saw alot of action, occasionally injured**( added as a side note as to my mentality on the subject)

I'm a Carpenter/Contractor, got a few broken ribs on a job accident. I also train/compete in MMA and had a fight this past Wednesday, got a few more broken from that one.

My opinion is to train/fight through whatever the injury, noone on the street/real life is gonna care if you're injured and so you'd best learn how to deal/train/fight with it, cause they sure as heck won't care....

What are your opinions/thoughts on this way, how do you go about it?

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I think you have the right mentality on it. I'm not one for breaking each other up all the time, but working through pain is a major portion of self defense in my opinion. Its just a hard issue to train :)

But I pretty much agree with you, I dont do alot of competing (officially) anymore, but I agree with your post.

7sm

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I also agree that one must learn to compet/practice with pain.
As the old saying goes: If you have never been punched in the face or been hurt how do you know what you will do when it happens.

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I also agree that one must learn to compet/practice with pain.
As the old saying goes: If you have never been punched in the face or been hurt how do you know what you will do when it happens.

I agree with this too. The only caution I'd add is to be careful that training with a "healable* injury does not cause permanent injury.

Naha

Yellow Belt
Reaction score