Hapkido cross training?

O

OrangeLeopard

Hi, i am a kempo student like many on this forum and wanted to start Hapkido over the summer in a local school. I have been looking for another martial art that would compliment my training in kempo and grappling and just wanted your input to see if this is a good idea or if you think there are other martial arts that would better suit my already existing knowledge.
Just additional info that you may need to help answer my question: I am a blue belt in kempo, moderatley flexible (can kick about up to my head), pretty strong, have basic grappling concepts and submission techniques from Bjj.

Thanks!

OP
Z

zac_duncan

Hapkido can be a very good art to cross train in. I think if you go to a good school and find a good instructor, you'll get a lot out of it.

One thing of note though, at your relatively early stage in the Kempo learning processs you might encounter some "clash" between what your HKD instructor and your Kempo instructor might teach. Without a deep foundation in one or the other, you might have trouble reconciling the differences. Just a thought. Might not even be relevant.

OP
M

Mike-IHF

Orange Leopard,

I would love to give you my advise, But first I have to ask one question. Why do you want to cross train? now I will give you my advise.