Grappling/ground fighting

CF'er

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
My instructor went to a grappling/ground fighting seminar over the weekend.
We are now learning grappling/ground fighting over the next few weeks in addition to our normal stuff. We started last night and I am so sore. I'm hoping I can move tomorrow but I don't know.
At this point we are learning basic moves/conditioning and will put it all together later. If we live that long....

TKDmel

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I'm jealous CF'er. My old school in California had an instructor come in once a week for grappling. I really miss it.

Independent_TKD

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I strongly advise all TKD'ers to learn ground fighting/ground defense. A few years back a friend of mine well versed in BJJ easily took me down (and out). That was a real wake up call for me since I was a TKD instructor at that time. So, I spent several years really learning the ground side of things.

My STRONG advice is, if you are going to learn ground fighting/defense, learn it the right way. Personally, I would recommend spending a good amount of time in proper Judo classes or BBJ classes.

TKD'ers have to remember, your goal on the ground is to get back on your feet. In both Judo and BJJ, the object is sporting. DO NOT get mixed up in your goals while on the ground.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I strongly advise all TKD'ers to learn ground fighting/ground defense. A few years back a friend of mine well versed in BJJ easily took me down (and out). That was a real wake up call for me since I was a TKD instructor at that time. So, I spent several years really learning the ground side of things.

My STRONG advice is, if you are going to learn ground fighting/defense, learn it the right way. Personally, I would recommend spending a good amount of time in proper Judo classes or BBJ classes.