Good stick fighting videos?

phlaw

Purple Belt
Reaction score
My cousin wants to learn stick fighting and there are no local schools. I am trying to help him find some good instructional videos.

Any tips?

Thanks

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
It is really hard to learn without an instructor. I would advise looking for some seminars in the local area and start there. For videos well anything by Remy Presas is always good in my book.

Volumes 1 through 6
The 3 tape Blackbelt Series
All are exceptional and fun to watch.

Good luck and tell your friend to keep looking because there are alot of us
FMA people out there and some do not advertise. Take care.

charyuop

Black Belt
Reaction score
I agree with what Brian said about the learning with video part. I studied Tai Chi for months without a teacher because I couldn't find a teacher near me. Last month I finally found a teacher and started working with him.
I could do easily half of the forms through video, but with just the first 3 forms with the teacher I would get very tired. There are things that in a video don't appear as easily as you think. How exactly low a stence should be? How exactly a hand should move? Is the ending position of a foot correct? Is the breathing correct?
There are so many details that you, busy copying the video, will never see, but a teacher near you will easily see and correct.

I still use the video to go on and learn the style of Tai Chi I was doing (which is a little different from the one I do with my teacher), but now I use the videos only as supplementary tool. I apply the teaching of my teacher so that I avoid the errors in following the video.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
My cousin wants to learn stick fighting and there are no local schools. I am trying to help him find some good instructional videos.

Any tips?

Thanks