For ALL black belts, what was your graduation like?

tko4u

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I graduated over a year ago to my black belt and am curious to hear what some other graduations are like. Like my instructor says "you only get your black belt once"

crushing

Grandmaster
Reaction score
It was a great day, especially because my eldest son earned his black belt the same day and a fellow TKDin that earned his black belt 18 months earlier just got back from Iraq stopped in to see us test.

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
Mine was in 1887 if I recall, it was my fisrth degree black belt and the examintaion was:

-Technique.-stances,punches,defenses,kicking.
-Poomse.
-Breakin.
-Sparring one on one.
-sàrring with 3 black belts at once.
-Self defense aplications.

On decelmber I will aply for the second degree black belt if Lord allows me.

Manny

OP
tko4u

tko4u

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
It was a great day, especially because my eldest son earned his black belt the same day and a fellow TKDin that earned his black belt 18 months earlier just got back from Iraq stopped in to see us test.

That must have been some celebration! CONGRATULATIONS! What all did the ceremony include?

zDom

Senior Master
Reaction score
I graduated over a year ago to my black belt and am curious to hear what some other graduations are like. Like my instructor says "you only get your black belt once"

Well, once per art anyway :) ;)

My TKD "graduation" was, well, OK, Josh (good to see you here, btw ;)) but not as nice as your current instructor makes them —*he really goes all out and makes it a memorable occassion.

Ours was simply a matter of lining up everybody who had tested (this was about two weeks after the test or so) and handing us a belt one by one while the class, seated in their regular rows, applauded each of us. (shrug)