FMAT: What are the basic principles of your FMA?

Clark Kent

<B>News Bot</B>
Reaction score
What are the basic principles of your FMA?
By geezer - 01-07-2011 10:13 PM
Originally Posted at: FMATalk

====================

I just made a post on another thread saying that we all need to start posting more to keep this forum alive and active. Well now I'm trying to do my part. If any of you have better stuff to contribute... Great! Post it! Now back to the topic....

The two FMAs I've had any real involvement in are both "concept oriented" meaning that their way of moving directly reflects certain underlying principles or concepts about what's seen as essential in a combat situation. In the first system I studied, Latosa Escrima, the core concepts fell into five categories: Balance, Power, Speed (Distance and Timing), Focus, and Transition. Simplicity and "directness" were also very important. Coming from Cabales Serrada and other stuff, Rene Latosa paired his system down to just five offensive strikes and five defensive movements that are really offense and defense rolled into one. The complexity in this system arises from being able to adapt this deceptively simple foundation to suit an infinite number of combat situations with whatever weapon, if any, is at hand.

The system I'm involved with now, Direct Torres Eskrima (DTE) uses pretty similar ideas, but focuses primarily on 1. Getting an angle (positioning), "Diamond-point" or instantaneous/pin-point transition from one technique to the next, and Forward Energy directed through your opponent's center. As a WC practitioner as well, I find these concepts very comfortable... especially the emphasis in forward, centerline energy, short-power (not withdrawing or "winding up" for a strike), and trying to defeat an opponent as efficiently as possible (using the fewest movements and following the shortest path to your target).