first seminar

lonecoyote

Brown Belt
Reaction score
I'm thinking of going to my first seminar. What is the etiquette? This will not be held at a dojo where I am a student. Should I take notes? How can I go about getting the most out of this? Should I wear a gi? It is held at a traditional school but the guy giving the seminar is a well known MMA guy. I just saw a poster up at the school as I was driving by and will stop in tomorrow and talk to the instructor, and see what's up. So, any suggestions? What questions do I need to ask?

OULobo

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just be respectful. I would suggest treating him with the same respect as you head instructor, but remember that this person isn't an idol, just a talented martial artist and teacher.

Mark Lynn

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
lonecoyote

IMHO I think that going to a seminar can be a great way for you to get some added experience from a different instructor or in a different martial art. I have attended many different types of martial art seminars over the years, some in tradtional martial arts, filipino martial arts, JKD, Kobudo, Aikijujitsu, Kenpo, karate, and others. They all are different and you can do different things at each of them (etiquette wise and all). Here are my suggestions.

1) By all means stop by and talk to the instructor and ask him what the proper etiquette will be for the seminar. Should you wear your gi and rank or should you wear a white belt (if it is not your primary system). The hosting instructor can give advice on this and you can ask in such a way as to be respectful to him and not sound like a complete idot or a braggart. In fact talking to the insitrcutor and being pleasent and respectful can generally help you out in other ways as well (who knows he might assign on of his students to work with you, or introduce you to the instructor who is teaching etc. etc.).