First real Muay Thai fight.

Jarrod G.

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've been training in Muay thai for over 3 years in a very good gym in Canada and have competed in numerous tournaments. I am currently in Thailand about 3 weeks into a 1 1/2 month training session. I have decided that I would like to set up a real fight in one of the local stadiums before I leave (in approx. 3 weeks) I feel that my training regiment is good (2 hrs twice a day 6 days/week) and I feel that my technique has never been cleaner or stronger.

I was wondering if anyone has had a Muay Thai fight in Thailand before that can give me any piece of advice. I have been asking the trainers but their english isn't too good and they keep telling me "train hard" "train more" "be strong". Although all this makes sense, I was looking for something a little more specific.

Maybe some tips from people who have had other types of pro fights, as I have only had amateur fights up to this point.

any tips would be appreciated.

DeadlyShins

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I haven't had a pro fight yet...but good luck with yours. Have fun and let us know how badly you beat the guy. =)

-steve-

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Good luck, it takes allot of guts to fight a pro. Train hard, be strong, train more.:jediduel:

OP
J

Jarrod G.

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
watch out for the elbows!!!

try asking this guy, he has been training in thailand for a long time.

http://fightpassport.com/category/muay-thai-training-journals/

Interesting blog but I'm not sure how i would ask him a question. Besides, It doesn't sound like he has alot of pro fight experience.

Good advice on the elbows though!! although I think he may be more surprised by my elbows, I'm a very lenky 6'1 and have extremely long elbows/knees and a great clinch.

I'm more looking for advice on how to cope with the switch from training/amateur tournaments to pro fights.

Akira

Green Belt
Reaction score