Experiences of BJJ juniors that have stuck with it for more than 5 years? 10 years? Attrition rate?

Crosswind117

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi Everybody,

I'm a non-martial artist that currently has two of my children (age 6 and 9) enrolled in BJJ classes. So far, they've been at it for 4 months and things have been going well. They're engaged, motivated, and not showing any signs of boredom, whining or wanting to quit.

The gym that they attend was established in 2017 and it is the business owner who is the primary instructor and who does the bulk of the teaching (from the kids classes all the way up to the adult classes). This instructor is early forties and also has two children around the same ages of my kids. I do not know this instructor personally in any way. The gym seems to be doing well financially as there's quite a wait-list of people trying to sign up and they appear to be searching for additional staff to accommodate the increased demand. This instructor is also active in BJJ tournaments, but I only hear of about the kids teams that the gym fields; not sure about the teens or adults.

All-in-all, this gym and instructor seem to be a great place to establish a long-term relationship with BJJ. The instructor not going to retire anytime soon or move away for family or financial reasons, and the instructor has a vested interest in producing proficient students because it is the instructor's personal business and reputation.

My question is this: For kids that have continuously attended BJJ lessons for more than 5 years or more than 10 years, how many fellow students stayed with you in all those years?