Excel issues... experts in the house?

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm running into some problems with Excel. Any experts in the house? Related to data validation, and coordination of data validation among multiple cells.

Thanks!

Jason

rutherford

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Post your question. I'm not an expert, but I'll see what I can do and I'm sure somebody else will know if I don't.

OP
mrhnau

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
I've got two issues:

1) If certain text exists in a series of cells, I want to add 10 to a different cell. For instance, if the word "Fast" exists in cells A1:A10, add 10 to cell B1

2) I've got a sheet containing a list. Lets say it contains 3 points of data.
Lets say "Short, Medium, Tall" in cells C1:C3. in cells D1:D3 I have text giving a range of what I consider "short, medium tall", for instance I might want to say short is " < 5'5 ", medium " > 5'5 and < 6' ", tall " > 6' ". On a seperate sheet I've created a pull down menu using a list calling on the defined name called "height". On this seperate sheet, I'd like to be able to select "short" from the pull down menu, and have the cell right beside automatically update to the correlated " < 5'5 ".
I realize this would be easy using a relatively simple IF statement, but the list I'm dealing with are going to be in a few hundred pull down options, so IF statements would be a bit unreasonable.

Hope this is somewhat clear...
Thanks!

MrH

OP
mrhnau

mrhnau

Senior Master
Reaction score
oldnewbie said:
Have you played with the Vlookup function...
It may be what your looking for
thanks, thats getting close. I tried both Hlookup and Vlookup. The return value is the string I'm searching for.

Also tried playing with match. I'm trying to get a working IF statement. The closest thing I've been able to get is:

=IF(MATCH(Data!A1,F4:J4,0),1,0)
=IF(MATCH(CharacterData!A1,F4:J4),1,0)