Do you practice Palgwe Poomsae?

Marchfly

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all. *Charyot* ;)

I'm just asking this question because i'm a member of a WTF affiliated club, and the WTF dosen't require Palgwe patterns for gradings. Yet i find myself interested in them very much. I find them graceful and a great help for myself, as i'm a beginner and appreciate the more advanced movements featured.

Truth is, i have a little dilemma. I'm left to research Palgwe Poomsae on my own and have found that various web sites all have differing idea's on the performance of the first Palgwe Il Jang.

Any help would be appreciated in assisting my to find the correct formulae.

Thank in advance.

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Truth is, i have a little dilemma. I'm left to research Palgwe Poomsae on my own and have found that various web sites all have differing idea's on the performance of the first Palgwe Il Jang.

There is no such thing as a correct formula. I prefer smoothness and display of precision in my kata. Another person might prefer speed or power. It's all good, and good forms practice will mean you change around how you practice your forms to make sure you hit all the qualities needed to make them real for you. By the way, the choreography of the Palgwes are pretty simple. Does it really matter if one version states an outside block instead of a inside block? That's usually the variances I see in descriptions on the web. Or are you referring to something bigger?

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hi all. *Charyot* ;)

I'm just asking this question because i'm a member of a WTF affiliated club, and the WTF dosen't require Palgwe patterns for gradings. Yet i find myself interested in them very much. I find them graceful and a great help for myself, as i'm a beginner and appreciate the more advanced movements featured.

Thank in advance.

Hi Marchfly—