curricullum (I hope that this is spelled right I am drawing a complete blank today)

Cirdan

Senior Master
Reaction score
From my viewpoint as a kyu student I think our system resembles kick boxing at low levels then progresses in the direction of tai chi as one learns the finer points of wado. The basic kicks and punches are taught first, then elbow and knee strikes and later more complex kicks and open handed strikes. Ukemi wasa are also taught from white belt level. Breathing, natural movement and relaxation becomes more important after a while. We have nine kyu levels and for each a number of sparring combinations ranging from four to ten. Higher belts are required to do more free sparring. There are also throws and wristlocks wich are taught mostly at 3.kyu and above. There is one kata for each belt, except two for 3. kyu and 1.kyu. The curriculum for 1-3. dan include three katas each.

T

TheBattousai

Man, you had to ask, so here it goes:
(The listing is what rank your going for)
This is for Kempo, there are some auxilary arts too that help refine princibles, but there mainly to help advance your kempo. I'll post those only upon request.....since I don't have the list with me(and its alot of typing). If you have any questions, just ask.

Yellow(Gokyu) = Throws - Ogoshi, Osotogari, Sasaetsurikomiashi. Blocks - Outer Circular Block, Inner Circular Block. Hand Techniques - Reverse Punch, Chop, Back Elbow. Kicks - Front Snap Kick, Roundhouse Kick, Side Snap Kick. Chokes - Hadaka Jime, Kata Juji Shime. Kata & Embu - Hambo Kata, Kempo Kata*, Karate Embu.

Green(Yonkyu) = Throws - Deashibarai, Ipponseonage, Taiotoshi. Blocks - Cross Block, X block. Hand Techniques - Straight Punch, Heel of Hand, Slap. Kicks - Straight Kick, Inside Roundhouse Kick, Knee Kick. Chokes - One Hand Carotid Grab, Kataha Jime. Counterjoints - Kotegaeshi, Ikkyo. Kata & Embu - Hambo Embu, Kempo Kata*, Karate Embu.