Creationist Kids - their faith vs science

Makalakumu

Gonzo Karate Apocalypse
MT Mentor
Reaction score
In my other life, I'm a science teacher at the local high school. I teach biology, physics, and earth science. For this year, I ended up teaching one class at the local middle school...basic earth science.

At this particular school, the demographics are completely different from where I normally teach. All of these children are from well-off families and most of them have parents are really involved and care. Also, many of the families are very religious and conservative.

As the year has gone on, I've grown to really appreciate these kids. They are smart, they work hard, and you can really tell that they are being brought up right. Now, I'm smart enough to realize that their faith is part of this equation and I don't want to do anything to jeopardize that.

Here's the problem...

I have at least a half dozen kids who are outright creationists. They believe that the earth is 6,000 years old, that evolution is not true, and that specially created by god exactly like it says in genesis. And I have a half dozen more who lean this way.

I was initially surprised by this. At my other school, we don't have any evangelical churches nearby and I've only had a couple of students with these beliefs. They were polite, they sat in class, listened to what I had to say, and moved on.

In this class, however, my creationist students have banded together to present a united front against the challenge to their beliefs. They say things like, "There's no such thing as millions of years" or "There's no such thing as Evolution" or "Adam and Eve lived with the dinosaurs" or "There really was a world wide flood and Noah's Ark was real."

When I ask them to provide evidence for these claims, they either give really flimsy anecdotes or no evidence at all, saying that it is just a matter of faith.