Combining styles, need suggestions

chrissyp

Green Belt
Reaction score
So i'm studying Shotokan, and i've studied a lot of boxing and muay thai....I notice that the sparring stance in Shotokan is similar to boxing...

I was wondering for those who could give me advice, what's the best way to throw round kicks in a boxing stance, and defend against them? Or should I throw it out the window and go for a more square stance?

Any advice on blending the two styles is much appreciated!

marques

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Or should I throw it out the window and go for a more square stance?
Look Jeet Kune Do, they kick from a sideways stance. Or you just square up for kicks...

Round kick with the rear leg is quite the same as from a more square stance. Just more easy to see and defend.
Round kick from the lead leg, the so-called 'Brazilian kick' may be a good option.
Then there are the side kicks, spinning kicks...

Leg kick defence from a sideways stance? Not easy... (See recent losses of Nate Diaz or next video.)

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
It might be that you should not mix them. Not all things mix well. Don't get so determined to do it that you miss any indications that you should not do it.

I don't know what the answer is, as I have not studied these methods. But if you are asking the question, it tells me you may not know any of it well enough yet to make a good decision about it.

Perhaps you aren't ready yet to be thinking about this.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
what boxing stance are you discussung. I know a heap of guys who box in a square stance. and who have no special issues throwing kicks.

(ok. I dont know kostya tszu but he is a good example)

OP
C

chrissyp

Green Belt
Reaction score
Look Jeet Kune Do, they kick from a sideways stance. Or you just square up for kicks...

Round kick with the rear leg is quite the same as from a more square stance. Just more easy to see and defend.