Colour belt/sash grading

DieRegteAdriaan

White Belt
Reaction score
I have seen a post elsewhere on this site about what different peoples black belt gradings consist of and how long they take to complete. What about the colour belts, what does it entail, how much time does it take (is it over the course of a week?), and how often do you grade (once, twice or more times a year?). In the dojo where I train (Goju Ryu) I have been training for two years and only graded twice (yellow,orange) and my green grading is coming up somewhere over the next few months. The reason for this is that my Sensei doesnt grade you until you are at a specific skill requirement. The grading itself is hard and we do not grade during exam time (still a student). It usually starts on monday and ends the following thursday, with 2h of grading each except the last day 3h. It consist of lots of fitness testing, then basics (and combo moves), then kata and appplication and then traditional sparring, this all ends with a "suprise pack" which is mainly stuff like push ups, squat kicks and bags until you puke or die.

hpulley

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I train gojuryu and kobudo (similarly having graded yellow and orange) and also similarly, at this dojo you grade when the sensei says you are ready to grade. Some people grade quickly, some people spend 9 years at brown belt before finally grading to black and some students never grade up from their current level if they don't improve enough. There is generally a grading held every month, especially for the kids with all the stripes (the adults just grade full levels and of course have much higher requirements with an adult yellow belt equivalent to at least a kids full orange belt).
Grading consists of kihon (Basics), kata (forms), bunkai, sparring, self defense, questions, etc.