Cheng Style Baguazhang

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
I'm bored with many of the posts (non-MA posts) on MT so I decided to read more about Cheng Baguazhang since it was he style I studied most recently and make a post out of some of it. And if I am wrong please correct me.

So I will start with Cheng Tinghua (1848-1900) and see how far I get before I lose interest

Bagua%20(Ba%20Gua%20or%20Pakua)%20Cheng%20Ting%20Hua%20H264.jpg

Cheng Style Baguazhang is the style of Baguazhang descended from Cheng Tinghua, one of the disciples of Dong Haichuan. Due to Cheng Tinghua's extensive background in shuaijiao throwing techniques before learning baguazhang, Cheng style tends to emphasize throwing techniques

Cheng Tinghua was killed during the boxer Rebellion (July 1900) and there are a few stories as to waht happend but both say he fought several forign soldiers and defeated them but he was shot several times as he walked away.

1) Cheng swore to defend his country from the enemy. One day, around the government buildings near the Yong Ding Gate, Cheng met ten of the enemy and subdued them all and none dared to advance. The officers were furious, and ordered a large patrol with rifles to surround Cheng. Cheng calmly used piercing palm to evade them. Then he turned around, leaped up on top of a wall and walked away. They did not have pity on him when he was on the wall and he perished in a hail of bullets.

2) Cheng took the responsiblity for defending the people from the invasion. He tried to defend himself agaisnt a dozen soldiers armed with only two daggers. His pupils tried to stop him, but to no avail. It was later found that Cheng single-handedly killed ten or more soldiers, but he died of multiple bullet wounds.

And there are other versions of the story as well.

OP
Xue Sheng

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
From an interview with Liu Jingru on China from the Inside