Certain time. Certain places?

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I've been training for nearly 25 years & have no trouble going at it hard on the mat or in the ring. I'm very proud that in that time, I've never needed to use my physical skils outside of the gym. In college (no thanks to "RoadHouse") I did spend way to much time trying to "protect" friends in need. (It took me a while to realize they brought trouble on themselves). At 39, I have neither the time or energy to ever play the "tough guy." I tell you this only to share my background.

I had a conversation yesterday with some co-workers at a conference. I work as a case manager with homeless folks. The subject of security came up. The place I work now is the only place I've worked (in 8 years of this work) that has security staff. For me, it's never been a thought, honestly. One gal told of co-workers being stabbed by clients in the past & the need for others to be aware that it can happen & protect one'sself against such things.

It got me thinking whether I tend to compartmentalize my training for a certain time, place & attire. I want to be able to protect myself and/or coworkers, if needed. Being aware & ready for something to happen is one thing. Being paranoid is another.

Does anyone else struggle with this trying to find this balance?

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I have and still occasionally do. Really about the only advice I can give is be alert to your surroundings but not worried. I know, easier said than done.

morph4me

Goin' with the flow
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score