Boxing for self defense and confidence?

ToughGuy

White Belt
Reaction score
I am considering taking boxing lessons. I am a meek person. I don’t like confrontations. I tried Tai Kwan Do and Jiu-Jitsu for a while. I wasn’t very good at them. After taking lessons for a while, I did not feel any more prepared for a fight. Boxing seems like it is more direct and to the point of fighting. I was thinking that with boxing, I might learn how to deal with punches being thrown at me. Maybe I would not be as afraid of threatening people.

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I have very little experience with boxing. I usually spar against them and workout with them, but do not train with them.

If you can visit other training halls around your area and see the different styles. Ask yourself how effect will that style be for you personally. Most common styles defend against a single punch at the beginning of training, while boxing you will have combos thrown at you.

Meet with the instructors and ask them about your concern with self defense.

If possible go to 2 different gyms for boxing so you can have some sort of comparison. Hopefully your trainer will not use you as a meat grinder for the other guys too soon. You will experience an intense workout.

Boxing has some sweet combos and those guys can punch. Also they have footwork to engage and evade. You will need to practice punching without the gloves so you don't hurt your hands and wrist in a real fight.

If you go boxing you may want to cross train for weapons and ground work.

I need a boxer to clarify the following statement, the object of boxing is not so much blocking, but hit and evade.

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I forgot to mention that there's a HUGE difference between a good instructor and an excellent instructor, so meet with as many as you can and talk to them, watch a class or two, and definitely take a free class.

tellner

Senior Master
Reaction score