Boxing at my desk?

Jonathan

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Well, no, not really boxing, per se... but are there exercises that might help me out that could be done while sitting at my cubicle? I work in the finance field, so I generally at am a desk 8-10 hours out of the day... figure I might as well do something... footwork, stretches, wrist exercises (which I badly need- mine are pretty fragile), etc.

Any suggestions? I already run at my gym (did 4 miles today, in fact), so I'm looking at low impact stuff that I can do while sitting at my desk.

morph4me

Goin' with the flow
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
If your chair swivels you can work on your obliques by keeping your upper body straight and swiveling your chair right and left as far as you can. Get a set of hand weights and do some exercises with them while you're on the phone. You can also learn some of the aikido wrist stretches and do them anytime.

bushidomartialarts

Senior Master
Reaction score
i used to work tech support and wound up in the same situation.

isometrics were good.

you can do your handwork right at the desk if you're not in a position where you'll get a call from HR for freaking out your workmates

those squeezy hand balls can be helpful

my desk was built at an angle, so i could do dips

stretching is easy there too

Jonathan Randall

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Dips are my first choice (thanks for reminding us, Bushidomartialarts!).

Second choice is, appearances permitting, keeping one arm up (or both if they are free), elbows tucked in, utilizing the same muscles that keeping a good guard up requires. Often boxers tire and their guard is the first to go.

Also, arm stretches can easily be performed, IMO, while at your desk (I do them sometimes in my cubicle while I'm waiting for stuff to print). Also, don't forget to do quick leg stretches during your breaks.

Best of luck and keep us informed of your progress!

ArmorOfGod

Senior Master
Reaction score