Bad news from the Doc today

agemechanic03

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Ok, So about 3.5 years ago when I studied TKD in Georgia, I did a round house kick to a speed bag and lost my footing and fell on my right hip. Well, I made the dumbest of all mistakes by not going to the doc. I found out today that when I fell, I some how shredded a lot of tendons and as they have grown back, it's clumped up basically. The doc felt around it today and didn't like it all, so now I am going to a physical therapist this Thursday to see if they can possibly help since we don't have any sports therapists on the island of Korea. Reason I finally went to the doc was b/c now as I try to do my round house kicks, I can barely kick waste level, and if I kick high, it REALLY hurts. It's bothered me for a few months now since I started my training in TSD and figured it's about time to have it checked out. It also bothers me when I stretch in certain positions. So, we'll see. Hopefully they can do something or maybe my instructor here in Korea knows someone that can fix me up. I'll keep ya'll updated.

Chris

kosho

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I hope it works out for you. I had to have shoulder surgery (2)
Now doing well. I also held off and did not go see a DR.

kosho

Kennedy_Shogen_Ryu

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Keep positive friend, many people have come back from injuries and have become better martial artists then they were before they were injured. Keep your head and your spirits high, you'll be in my thoughts friend!

Reaction score
Chris,
Many of the injuries that we develop in martial training, regardless of the system of choice, are due to improper warm-up. If you don’t warm up the body completely before hitting the training floor hard, you will definitely, over time develop problems like this.