another Olympic hopeful

Peace & Harmony

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
hello everyone, im new to MartialTalk, my name is terez and i was wondering is it possible to become a part of the olympics for Taekwondo? im a white belt currently and im 20 in college and im in love with Taekwondo so far! ive heard of people who have traveled to different countries to do competitions and such, and i would love to do that someday! i really want to represent the country of the USA in the Olympics. any advice for a young hopeful?

Omar B

Senior Master
Reaction score
Well sorry to be the bearer of downer news but the Olympics are a young person's game, you would have already have had to be a black belt and done well on the tournament circuit to get noticed. Many of the TKD players are in their teens and 20's and non of them are white belts (or any lower than black). You can certainly compete, but by the time you reach black belt you would have been about 25 which is considered old and unless you start racking up lots of tournament wins now you might not get noticed.

It's admirable that you want to try, I say go for it, but keep in mind you are a bit behind in rank and age.

OP
P

Peace & Harmony

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
awww :( well thanks for you being honest omar, im still gunna try though! i always wanted to travel and do competitons so if i can at least do that, then that will be okay :) i was also thinking of opening my own tkd school but thats not until later of course lol

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score