Aikido - Bagua Connection

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Not sure if this is touchy ground or not.

As a bagua student, I have heard a lot of Bagua people comment that Aikido was either:

a. inspired by Bagua
b. based on Bagua
c. a cheap imitation of Bagua

All depending on who you talk to.

Now, as a Bagua student, I can believe that there are some folks that would love to have an art as esteemed as Aikido attributed to them somehow... Like folks trying to hang on the accomplishments of others never happens in martial arts, right?

However, having taken Aikido very briefly a few years back, I did notice some odd similarities here and there, small things that seemed strangely out of place for a Japanese art...

Just wondering what other folks' take is on this issue.

Thanks!

:samurai: :samurai:

M

Morpheus

There are always going to be strong visual correlations between japanese and chinese martial arts.

It is certainly true that China influenced a massive influence on the martial development of Japan and significant amounts of japanese arts originated in the teachings of exiled warriors, pilgrims and so on.

However, to say that they did not develop into their own after centuries passed would be a bit like saying that a japanese television is a pale imitation of an english television just because the principles did not originate with the japanese. Maybe that's a bit of an awkward analogy but I think it stands.

Japanese methods of joint-locking, balance-breaking and circular movement are as sophisticated as those in chinese arts such as bagua, chin-na and fast-wrestling, and indeed much more widespread.

In the particular case of aikido I would say that similarities are hereditary as well as accidental- there are only so many ways to move the human body and if you start from the same principle of redirection of force then similarities will arise.